Silver Scroll finalists

Jess Chambers.
The 2009 APRA Silver Scroll Award song of the year finalists have been announced.


The 2009 APRA Silver Scroll Award song of the year finalists have been announced.

From a list released last month of the Top 20 songs from the past year, 7000+ APRA members have elected their songwriting champions of 2009.

The finalists for outstanding creative excellence in songwriting and composition are.

Shayne Carter (Dimmer): Degrees Of Existence

Jess Chambers: Island

James Milne & Luke Buda (Lawrence Arabia): Apple Pie Bed

Phil Madsen: Dancing On The Moon

Jeremy Redmore, Simon Oscroft, Matthew Warman, Aidan Bartlett & Nick Campbell (Midnight Youth): The Letter

“These are a rich and diverse bunch of songs,” says Anthony Healey, Director if NZ Operations for APRA.

“It’s hard to explain what links these songs but each of them possess an undeniable quality that grabs you and hooks you in. That’s what makes a great song. These are extraordinary.”

Not only are the finalists chosen by their peers, their works are also performed by their peers. As an event the APRA Silver Scroll Awards are a highly anticipated evening on the music industry calendar with unique collaborations and performances.

For the first time in the awards history – the APRA Silver Scroll Awards are to be held in Christchurch on Thursday 17 September.

In recognition of the contribution music makes to New Zealands culture and heritage, there will be another induction to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame at the Awards. Set up in 2007 with RIANZ, the 2009 inductee(s) will join the ranks of The Topp Twins, Johnny Devlin, Jordan Luck & Straitjacket Fits.

The APRA Silver Scroll Awards are a celebration of our songwriting best – across all genres and measures of success. As such, a nod will be made to the Most Performed Works, both here and overseas, and the presentation of the following awards:

The APRA Maioha Award – celebrating contemporary Maori music. The finalists are:

Jamie Greenslade, Jeremy Froger & Rupert Brown with Whakakotahi Rangatahi performed by maitreya

Maisey Rika, John Rika & Mahuia Bridgman?Cooper with Repeat Offender performed by Maisey Rika

Rewi Spraggon & Riki Bennett with Tapapakanga performed by Te Aratoi

SOUNZ Contemporary Award – celebrating contemporary classical composition. The finalists are:

Jack Body with My Name is Mok Bhon

Ross Harris with Symphony lll

Michael Norris with Volti

Written by

The Big Idea Editor

10 Aug 2009

The Big Idea Editor

Mikee Carpinter
Props Boy, rock guitarist, colourist, band manager, music producer: Mikee Carpinter has surely held many a day-job
Bic Runga
Kiwi musician and producer Bic Runga has been announced as the first recipient of a creative residency programme being reinstated after a decade-long break.
Cobham Intermediate students recording at Orange Studios
Ali Harper’s tale is inspiring. We saw her work and asked her to tell her story on The Big Idea. We are so glad she did.
Alex McKellar with her son Wyatt
Director Alexandra McKellar plays a few roles - mother, teacher, performing artist, partner and long distance driver.