Nominees for the Wellington Theatre Awards 2018

Announcing the nominees for the Wellington Theatre Awards 2018!



The Wellington Theatre Awards are proud to celebrate another exciting, engaging and highly entertaining year of professional theatre in the cultural capital on the evening Sunday 9 December in the Amokura Gallery at the Museum of New Zealand, Te Papa Tongawera.

This year’s awards ceremony will celebrate with the theme of Our Voice - a reflection on and celebration of 125 years of women’s suffrage in New Zealand and the power of the collective voice.

Together we will honour and acknowledge the brightest stars among the actors, directors, producers, writers, designers, technicians and theatre affiliates who have graced Wellington’s stages in 2018.

Our 2018 nominees are: (in alphabetical order)

Most Promising Newcomer (Two awards)
Eleanor Strathern, Producer A Mulled Whine
Ella Gilbert, Actor Soft Tissue
Kalyani Nagarajan Mrs Krishnan's Party
Kasiano Mita Talofa Papa
Manuel Solomon, Choreographer Spring Awakening
Trae Te Wiki, Acting, Hine Kahāwai; Writing, Beneath Skin and Bone

Lighting Designer
Morgan Whitfield Rushes
Owen McCarthy Actual Fact
Rachel Marlow Wild Dogs | Peter and the Wolf

Sound Designer
Claire Duncan Medusa
Eden Mulholland Meremere | Rushes
Te Aihe Butler Bless the Child

Set Designer
Daniel Williams Peter and the Wolf
John Verryt Rushes
Meg Rollandi & Isobel MacKinnon Actual Fact

Costume Designer
Amy Macaskill He Kura E Huna Ana
Sheila Horton Bloomsbury Women and the Wild Colonial Girl
Wai Mihinui Ka Tito Au

Composer of Music
Alayne Dick, Harriet Hughes, Rosie Howells, Jamie MacDonald Discharge is Rotten to the Core
Eden Mulholland Meremere | Rushes
Robin Kelly Valerie

New Playwright
Dominic Hoey Your Heart Looks Like a Vagina
Hōhepa Waitoa He Kura E Huna Ana
Isaac Te Reina Cleland All Good

New NZ Play
Anya Tate-Manning and Isobel MacKinnon My Best Dead Friend
Apirana Taylor Ka Tito Au
D. F. Mamea Still Life with Chickens

Most Original Production
Big J Stylez
Jane Doe

Actor of the Year, Actress of the Year, Outstanding Performance (Four awards in total)
Anapela Polataivao Wild Dogs Under my Skirt
Andrew Laing Wonderful
Anya Tate-Manning My Best Dead Friendl
Amy Tarleton Modern Girls in Bed
Bronwyn Turei Modern Girls in Bed
Goretti Chadwick Still Life with Chickens
John Landreth Movers
Leon Wadham Giddy
Lisa Harrow At the Wake
Reuben Butler Hine Kihāwai
Rodney Bell Meremere
Simon Leary Switzerland

Excellence Award 1 for AV Design
Charley Draper, Meg Rollandi and Isobel MacKinnon Actual Fact
Rowan Pierce Big J Stylez | Meremere | Rushes

Excellence Award 2 for puppetry
Peter and The Wolf
Still Life with Chickens

Excellence Award 3 for Community Engagement
Equal Voices Arts Salonica
Fafswag Fa'aafa
Taurima Vibes Breathe | All Good

Director of the Year
Anapela Polataivao Wild Dogs Under My Skirt
Jade Eriksen Giddy | Soft Tissue
Malia Johnston Meremere | Rushes

Production of the Year
My Best Dead Friend
Still Life with Chickens
Wild Dogs Under My Skirt

The Wellington Theatre Awards 2018

6:30pm, Amokura Gallery
Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongawera, 55 Cable Street, Wellington
Tickets $40/$36 per person when you book a table of 10.
Available at:

The Theatre Awards Trust would like to acknowledge our generous sponsors:
The Lion Foundation, Four Winds Foundation, Wellington City Council, Jack Jeffs Charitable Trust, The Dominion Post, Circa, BATS, Taki Rua, Toi Whakaari, Victoria University of Wellington, Capital E, Playmarket, Weta Workshop, Emerging Artists Trust, Park Road Post, New Zealand Festival and Showcast.

Further information: 

For more information, images or an interview, please contact Ellie Stewart at / 0273334169

Written by

Ellie Stewart

23 Nov 2018