Record Entries for Painting and Drawing Award

2019 MMCA Preliminary Judges Ane Tonga, Andrew McLeod, and Kirstin Carlin
Molly Morpeth Canaday Award continues to grow


A record number of digital entries for the 2019 Molly Morpeth Canaday Award - Painting and Drawing (MMCA) have been received from artists all over New Zealand. Some 500 entries are now being deliberated on by Preliminary Judges.

“It’s heartening to see enthusiasm for this award continue to grow,” says MMCA Coordinator Heather Hourigan. “Our preliminary judges will have some difficult decisions ahead of them.”

These judges - Ane Tonga (curator and writer), Andrew McLeod (artist), and Kirstin Carlin (artist and 2017 MMCA Major Award Winner) - are tasked with independently selecting their top picks from the pool of 500 entries. The scores awarded by these judges will be collated in January, to determine the works called in for exhibition. Entrants will be notified of these results by Thursday 17 January 2019.

“After that is when the physical work starts for our local team - receiving, unpacking and installing works in preparation for our international Guest Judge Dr. Christopher McAuliffe, who will select our Award Winners for 2019,” says Whakatāne Museum and Arts Exhibitions Coordinator Victoria Sinclair. “We have a great range of talks lined up from 14 February onwards, which will all be free to attend thanks to the generosity of local anonymous sponsors. It’s going to be an exciting season, and we’re very much looking forward to spending it with our extended arts community.”

The 2019 Molly Morpeth Canaday Award - Painting and Drawing exhibition, presented by Arts Whakatāne and Whakatane Museum and Arts, will be open for viewing from Sunday 17 February - Sunday 7 April 2019 at Te Kōputu a te whanga a Toi - Whakatāne Library and Exhibition Centre. Programme details can be found on the Molly Morpeth Canaday Award website (

Written by

Molly Morpeth Canaday Award

20 Dec 2018

The Molly Morpeth Canaday Award is one of New Zealand's longest running and most vibrant national contemporary art awards.