Make a big difference to The Big Idea.

Help us tell the most creative stories.

Become a supporter

Variety Artists Club of NZ Announces 2019 Award Recipients

Variety Artists Club of New Zealand 2019 Awards Recipients Announced


The Variety Artists Club of New Zealand is delighted to announce the recipients of the 2019 Benny Awards.

The black tie event was held at Crowne Plaza in Auckland City on Sunday 13th of October 2019 and featured performances from Hands Off, Angela Ayers, Dinah Lee, Carl Doy, Tina Cross, Penny Ashton, Marian Burns and the Howard Morrison Jnr Trio; featuring Howard Morrison Jnr, Russell Harrison and Chris Powley.  Master of Ceremonies Suzanne Paul.

Benny Award : Dennis Marsh

Agnew Award for Excellence : Andre Vegas

Fullers Entertainment Award : Brent Eccles

Limelight Productions International Achievement Award : Neil Finn OBE

Pacific Entertainment Award for Top Female Vocalist : Jodi Vaughan

Pub Charity Top Male Artist Award : Mitch James

Pat McMinn Rising Star Award : Carson Taare

Top Group Award : Six60

NZEA Top Musician Award : Stuart Pearce

Rielly Comedy Award : Urzila Carlson

Lou Clauson Top Variety Artist Award : The Dust Palace

Top Children's Entertainer Award : Eran Backler

VAC Scrolls of Honour :

Aroha Awarau, Gary Brown, Michael Galvin, Jane Horder, Oscar Kightley MNZM, Colin Parris, Bernard Reid, Rima Te Wiata MNZM

President's Award Medallion : Angela Ayers, Dinah Lee

Patron's Award : Linda Luxford

Our special thanks to :

Our major sponsor : Pub Charity Ltd.

Our award sponsors : Auckland Live, NZ Entertainment Academy, Limelight Productions and Entertainment and Pacific Entertainment.

Our Patrons and guest presenters : David Hartnell MNZM and Somboon Khansuk, Gray Bartlett MBE and Trish Bartlett, Karen Davy, Brent McLeod, Mick Peck, Glenda Law, Tracy Adshead & Kim McConnell, Shane Hales, Pauline Berry, Kevin Greaves, Robyn Alexander, Mike Walker and Tom Sharplin.

Our key suppliers : Peter Van Gent and the team from Van Gent Enterprises, Paul Randall of Captures Video, Ace Electroplating, Auckland Live and Crowne Plaza Hotel

The VAC was formed in 1966 and welcomes membership from professional entertainers and those involved in the industry.  The Benny Award has been presented to many household names and figureheads of entertainment and is seen as the highest honour for a variety entertainer in New Zealand.


Written by

Mick Peck

14 Oct 2019

Auckland Magician Mick Peck is an award winning entertainer and member of London's Magic Circle, the world's premier magic society.