Zonta Ashburton Female Art Awards 2020 - Finalists Announced

Melissa Macleod, The Fall (#1), New Brighton Beach Sand, glue, nylon, 2019
The Ashburton Art Gallery and Zonta Ashburton are excited to announce the ZAFAA20 finalists


The Ashburton Art Gallery is excited to congratulate the finalists for the Zonta Ashburton Female Art Award 2020 for the upcoming awards exhibition in March.

With 84 entries the judges had a tough decision in selecting the finalists. A total of 41 artworks have been selected to be included in the awards exhibition, of which 26 qualify for the Premier Award with an additional 15 eligible for the Young Generation Award for female artists between the age of 16-20.  The ZAFAA20 exhibition will be open to the public for viewing 7 March – 12 April 2020.

Judges for the 2020 awards are:

  • Lydia Baxendell, Curator, Kaitiaki Taonga Toi, Art Collections at the University of Canterbury
  • Cheryl Lucas, Senior practicing artist and 2019 Creative New Zealand Craft/Object Fellow
  • Sarah McClintock, Curator and Collection Manager at the Suter Art Gallery Te Aratoi o Whakatu, Nelson.

All three judges found shortlisting to be a difficult task; and believed that the caliber and diversity of the artworks entered reflected the real strength of female art practitioners in Canterbury. 

The Zonta Ashburton Female Art Awards Finalists for 2020 are:

Sarah Anderson (Lincoln), Audrey Baldwin (Christchurch), Sharnaé Beardsley (Christchurch), Jen Bowmast (Christchurch), Coral Broughton (Rangiora), Sarah Brown (Christchurch), Olivia Chamberlain (Christchurch), Edwards and Johann (Christchurch), Polly Gilroy (Christchurch), Jacquelyn Greenbank (Christchurch), Janna van Hasselt (Christchurch), Lee Harper (Christchurch), Kim Hennessy (Lyttelton), Ella Hickford (Christchurch), Phoebe Hinchliff (Christchurch), Mi Kyung Jang (Christchurch), Ina Johann (Christchurch), Orissa Keane (Christchurch), Gala Kirke (Timaru), Glenys Parry (Timaru), Lisa Patterson (Lyttelton), Hannah Phillips (Christchurch), Rebecca Smallridge (Christchurch), Susanne van Tuinen (Christchurch), Emma Wallbanks (Lyttelton) and Jenny Wilson (Christchurch)

Finalists for the Young Generation Award are:

Catherine Anderson (Christchurch), Abby Baillie (Christchurch), Eva Baillie-Gee (Christchurch), Sophie Boswell (Oxford), Rosetta Brown (Christchurch), Kyra Elliot (Christchurch), Kaitlin Fitzgibbon (Kaiapoi), Brietta Freeman (Christchurch), Jordan Garth (Christchurch), Emma Kim (Christchurch), Monica Koster (Christchurch), Yixuan Li (Timaru), Rilee McGlynn (Christchurch), Mila Rollo (Timaru) and Ruby Young (Timaru).

The award winners will be announced at the exhibition opening on Friday, 6 March at 7pm at the Ashburton Art Gallery. Coinciding with the awards ceremony is the opening a solo exhibition by Melissa Macleod, the Premier Award winner for ZAFAA19.

As with other years, in addition to the main awards, a People’s Choice Award will be open to visitors to vote for their favourite work throughout the duration of the exhibition and will be awarded at its conclusion.

ZAFAA20 is supported by Zonta Club of Ashburton, Ashburton District Council and Creative Communities Grant, Real Estate New Zealand Ashburton, House of Travel Ashburton, ANZ Private Banking, Bushey Park Trust, Everist Gilchrist Lawyers, CharRees Vineyard, Curves Gym and David Montgomery Agribusiness Consultants & Valuers.  

Exhibition Details:


Opening | 6 March 2020 | 7pm

Exhibition | 7 March – 12 April 2020


Melissa Macleod

Opening | 6 March | 7pm

Exhibition | 7 March – 19 April 2020

Contact details: 

Written by

Ashburton Art Gallery

25 Jan 2020