Make a big difference to The Big Idea.

Help us tell the most creative stories.

Become a supporter

Entries open for The Cleveland National Art Awards

Job details

Otago Art Society
23 Mar 2021
Work type
Awards, grants & residencies, Call for entries, Expressions of interest
Work classification
Visual Arts


Entries for the 2021 Otago Art Society’s biennial Cleveland National Art Awards are now open. With a total prize pool of more than $9000, this prestigious art award is not to be missed. Entries close 4pm on Tuesday 23rd March 2021.

These Awards have been made possible through the generous sponsorship of the Cleveland Charitable Foundation, Adams Plumbing and Drainage, Alex Campbell’s Menswear, Gallery De Novo, Moray Gallery, Sharon Stark Lont Barristers and Solicitors, and Taut Art.

The Awards will take place at the iconic Dunedin Railway Station, home of the Otago Art Society. The exhibition will be open to the public every day from 8th May to 12th June 2021.

The  Cleveland National Awards are open to all visual artistic disciplines from artists residing in New Zealand with initial entry via digital submission. Selection of works for the final exhibition and the winners of each category will be made by a panel of judges from the art community.

The OAS aims to make this event a celebration of New Zealand's artistic diversity and we need your help to achieve this goal. This is a biennial award so don't miss your chance to participate!

Any questions you may have please feel free to get in touch.


How to apply

We are a not-for-profit organisation. A non-refundable entry fee of $35.00 applies.

Entry forms are available on our website:


Written by

Otago Art Society

6 Jan 2021